If you were in a car accident and experienced an injury, you might benefit from the guidance of a seasoned personal injury attorney. Negotiating with insurance adjusters and filing legal documents could be an overwhelming experience without dedicated legal support. A Chandler car accident lawyer could help you determine your options for recovery moving forward.
Negligence remains the leading cause of automobile crashes. Drivers have a duty to drive with reasonable care with respect to those that they encounter on the road. If a driver fails to drive with reasonable care under the circumstances, they are in breach of their duty. Common examples of breach would be:
Car accident plaintiffs in Chandler must prove that the defendant owed a duty of care at the time of the accident, that the defendant breached the duty of care, which caused them to suffer harm. An accomplished lawyer could help an injured individual with establishing negligence.
Those that are injured in a car crash in Chandler may be able to file an insurance claim to recover economic damages such as medical bills, property damages, and lost wages suffered as a result of the accident. Fault insurance states like Arizona allow injured parties to file a claim with their own insurance company or against the at-fault driver’s carrier. This allows more options for injured parties than in no-fault insurance states, which have additional criteria that must be met in order to file an insurance claim against an at-fault driver.
Drivers in Arizona are required to carry a minimum amount of liability coverage. Drivers must have $10,000 in property damage coverage, $15,000 in bodily injury or death coverage, and $30,000 for total bodily injury or death liability coverage. If a driver fails to provide proof of insurance, they could face suspension of their registration and license.
Those injured in auto accidents in Chandler could also seek damages in court, but they must do so within the statute of limitations. A statute of limitations provides a time limit on a plaintiff’s right to sue. Under Arizona Revised Statutes §12-542, plaintiffs have two years from the date of the injury to file their personal injury lawsuit.
Damages could be reduced under the pure comparative fault rule. Under pure comparative fault, drivers who are partially at fault for causing the accident may have their recovery reduced by the percentage of fault that they contribute to causing the accident. For example, if a plaintiff is 15 percent at fault, the court could reduce their overall damage award by 15 percent. Drivers that are 100 percent at fault or intentionally cause the accident are barred from recovering compensation. A dedicated car accident lawyer in Chandler could help an injured victim recover damages following a crash.
Figuring out what to do after a car accident injury may be overwhelming. Between the physical injuries and financial pressures that you might be facing, legal recovery might not be at the top of your to-do list.
Determining your pathway forward could be less stressful with the assistance of an experienced Chandler car accident lawyer. Instead of leaving you to handle the case on your own, they could review the circumstances of your case and help handle your potential legal recovery. Start exploring your options, call now, and schedule a consultation.